Another year of commitment and achievement was celebrated in St Colman's College on Thursday evening December 8th, 2016 at the Fermoy college's annual Awards Night. There were over thirty awards presented for academic excellence and all-round ability to students past and present while groups and individuals were also recognised for achievement, leadership, commitment and service in school and the wider community. Welcoming the assembled audience, MC for the event Deputy Principal Garvan Queeney, stressed the importance of goal setting, self-belief and achievement and how developing such qualities help when facing life's obstacles later on. In her address, school Principal Veronica O'Donoghue welcomed the variety of award winners this year and congratulated the last leaving certificate class on their diverse subject choice of further education. Introducing Captain Andrew O'Shaughnessy, past pupil and the guest of honour for the evening, Ms O'Donoghue spoke of how she remembered him as a quiet, independent student who in fact sat the entrance exam for three schools (St Munchin's, St Flannan's and St Colman's) but chose to become a Colmanite! She remembered his prowess on the field and his success as a Dean Ryan, Harty, Kilmallock and Limerick hurler. His chosen career path was as an Army cadet followed by a business degree in NUIG. Despite personal health difficulties which cut short his sporting career, Andrew continued to serve his country which included a stint in Kosovo and a year with the conflict monitoring body OSCE in Vienna. Today Andrew is Cavalry Officer with the 1st cavalry Squadron based in Cork. List of award winners for 2016 are: Top Leaving Certificate - Brian O’Donovan; Top Junior Certificate - Kevin McCarthy; Transition Year - Oran O’Flynn & Michael Buckley; Construction - Daniel O’Regan; Design & Communication Graphics - Darren Scannell; Music - Brian O’Donovan; Geography  - Pierce Kent; History  - Pierce Kent; English - Brian O’Donovan; Gaeilge - David Mulcahy; French - Kevin McCarthy; German - David Gubbins;
Mathematics  & PJ Doherty Medal - Rory McEvoy; Applied Maths - Eoghan O’Callaghan; Physics - Matthew Keane Kelly; Biology - Harry Beresford; Chemistry - Thomas Stephenson; Agricultural Science - Jack O’Brien; Accounting - Paul Healy; Overall Business - Paul Healy; Endeavour & Leadership Award - Cian Lau; Special Achievement in Musical Theatre - Hugh Mulqueen; Special Achievement in Photography - Alex Walker; Special Achievement in Karate - Shane Hurley; Special Achievement in Tai Kwan Do - Dylan O’Leary; Special Achievement in Gymnastics - Nahel Bounane; Sixth Year Sports - Jeremy Saich; Fifth Year Sports - Stephen Condon; Transition Year Sports  - Beineoin O’Brien Whitmarsh; Third Year Sports - James Kearney; Second Year Sports - Daire O’Leary; First Year Sports - Ricky Carroll; St. Colman’s GAA Allstars Awards; Special Achievement in Sport (Captain Cork Minors 2016) - Niall O’Leary; Special Achievement in Sport (u-14 Captain) - Darragh Daly; Special Achievement in Sport (u16 Captain) - Colin Cronin; Dean Ryan 2016 Captains - Eoin & Brian Roche; Special Achievement in Golf - Jeff Ennis, Jack Scannell, Diarmuid Doherty, Eoin Carey; Special Achievement in Debating (Caint Phoiblí) - John Dineen, Colm Curtin, Robert McKenna. Outstanding Achievement Award went to Ballyhooly GAA the Cork County Junior Football Champions 2016; the Community Award was won by Fermoy Tidy Towns;  Outstanding Contribution to Photography went to past pupil Mark Condren (Press photographer of the year 2016); Outstanding Life Achievement was awarded to Eolann Sheehan while the St. Colman Award for contribution to St Colman's was awarded to Canon Sean Cotter. The Guest of Honour & Past Pupil Award recipient was Captain Andrew O’Shaughnessy.
Top Leaving Cert Student Brian O’Donovan with his parents and music teacher Ms Egan
Canon Sean Cotter receives the St Colman Award 2016
Kevin McCarthy, top Junior Cert student in 2016
L-R: Cian Lau - Endeavour award winner. Cian is now studying Economics in UCC;  David Gubbins - German award winner. David is now studying Medicine in NUIG;  Rory McEvoy - Maths award. Rory is studying Maths / Economics in Trinity College.
Mark Condren
The outstanding contribution to photography accolade was awarded to St Colman’s past pupil and Castletownroche native Mark Condren for his outstanding work as a press photographer nationally and internationally. Mark, who works with the Irish Independent, was named Press Photographer of the Year when the winners of the 38th annual PPAI ‘Press Photographer of the Year 2016’ Awards were announced and this is the fourth time he has received the award.
Commitment and Achievement honoured at St Colman’s College